Deleting a patient record

Discussion in 'Setup & Installation' started by kgmamman, Jul 28, 2007.

1. kgmamman

kgmamman New Member

Hello, I am new to SynapseDirect. Having gone through the training video I know how to add patient details. However I cannot figure out how do I delete a patient?. Thanks
  2. Graham

Graham Developer Staff Member

There is no facility to delete a patient. This is intentional.

If you were just experimenting, then you can download a new database and start from scratch again.
  3. Jason

Jason Developer / Handyman Staff Member

Certainly is a common question for new testers.

We do need to have a patient status, maybe deleted would be a status as well.

I have alot of dead patients still coming up in searches ... I'd like to find a way of eliminating them from searches and data mining.

4. Graham

So, you want flags for patients who have deceased, and for those who have left your practice?

5. armdpa

armdpa New Member

deceased, left practiced, no longer active... (i think i have seen this checkbox somewhere), or as i have had...staff errors that put a patient into the database accidentally ... or multiple instances for the same patient. When it was caught the 2 were merged...manually. and the we changed the second instancesname to ERRORJohn ERRORDoe but it would have been nice to make him disappear entirely. I suppose, if i really wanted to and had the time i could perform the ?Rebol equivalent of an sql command to delete the fields. For practices that are busy i could see staff easily duplicating records for the same patient inadvertently and a situation where you would want to delete...or flag out of existence.
    just my 2 cents on down time.
  6. Graham

What's the difference between left the practice and no longer active?
  7. Jason

The point here is that there should be end-user definable options.

I'd say they are similar, but "left practice" = definite, and "no longer active" = haven't been around in a long while.