Family practice requests

Discussion in 'Feature: Requests and Planning' started by BrunoH, Dec 2, 2006.

1. BrunoH

BrunoH New Member

Hi!

Shame on me. I'm a newbie, and I'm already asking for new features[:)] .

I'll be starting my family practice residency next month, and I was looking for an EMR program to help me keep track of patients. I've spent the last few hours looking at Synapse and I'm quite impressed (and already thinking how many hours it will save me when I have to write my residency reports). BTW, the training videos are a great idea

I have a few requests,

1) Is it possible to include a family tab that is common to all family members.

2) Can ICPC-2 coding be included alongside with ICD-9 and Read codes?

3) I'm just wandering if there's an easier way of manually entering lab results. From what I could figure out, the only way to enter data implies writing the type, value, units and source for each entry. This seems to be quite a time consuming task. I was wondering if is it possible to add data into a table for common lab investigations? I was thinking something where the columns would be the date when the blood sample was taken, and the rows would be user defined investigations (for instance, Hb,WBC,ESR/CRP, Chol, HDL, TG, glucose, U&E, ALT).

4) Can Synapse be translated to other languages?

Thanks,
    Bruno
  2. Jason

Jason Developer / Handyman Staff Member

Hi Bruno, I'm in primary care as well. We will have to chat about getting you up to speed. There is alot to learn.

Unfortunately I am on call and have 6 hospital patients in the ER to see.

Here is my 1 second blurb

1) I like.

2) I say no. ICPC sucks ( I used it in residency ) Do you need it for billing ? I think ICPC will map to ICD. Graham could probably do it though.

3) Labs .. hopefully your lab can do HL7 labs, and Synapse can auto import them. I just scan my labs and put them in as scanned pieces of OCR'd info.

4) I'd say very unlikely.

3. Graham